Get a Board Certified DUI Defense Attorney on your side.
Orange County Felony DUI Attorney
When is DUI a Felony in California?
Most Orange County DUI charges are classified as misdemeanors. However, there are particular circumstances where a drunk driving charge will be elevated and classified as a felony. Felony DUI cases are increasingly complex and the penalties associated with a conviction are severe.
In California, a driver may face felony DUI charges for:
- A fourth DUI within a 10-year period
- A new DUI with a previous felony DUI conviction
- DUI causing injury
- DUI causing death
- Driving with a minor in the vehicle
- Driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .16 percent or higher
If you or someone you know has been arrested for a felony DUI offense in Orange County or the surrounding areas, the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. can help. Orange County DUI Attorney Virginia Landry and our team are highly experienced in defending clients against serious charges and penalties. Our lawyers understand how to use the legal system to our clients’ benefit and how to provide effective representation at both DMV hearings and criminal proceedings.
What is the Penalty for Felony DUI in California?
A felony DUI conviction will involve in several very serious penalties, such as:
- incarceration in state prison,
- up to $1,500 in fines,
- 18 months of mandatory DUI classes,
- license suspension up to 4 months,
- or the permanent revocation of your driver’ s license.
What is the Difference Between Misdemeanor DUI and Felony DUI?
A misdemeanor is a lesser offense than a felony and therefore may carry lesser potential penalties than felonies. A misdemeanor may be punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a felony may be punishable by a minimum of 18 months in prison.
Certain serious felony offenses may result in many years in a state correctional facility, life in prison or even the death penalty. While a felony DUI offense will likely not result in the death penalty, a driver may face:
- up to 4 or even 10 years in state prison for a serious charge such as vehicular manslaughter.
- Even a fourth DUIoffense may result in a sentence of up to 3 years in prison.
- DUI causing injury may result in a 4 year prison sentence.
Discuss Your Felony DUI Charges With an Experienced Lawyer
You cannot afford to risk your future if you or a loved one is facing felony DUI charges. Orange County DUI lawyer Virginia Landry is here to help. By discussing your case with a member of our legal team, you can gain a clear understanding of your charges and what you can do to avoid serious penalties. There is always hope, and there is always something that an experienced lawyer can do to help you.
Contact an Orange County DUI attorney from our firm as soon as possible if you or someone you love has been arrested for a felony DUI.
You Only Have 10 Days!
If you do not act immediately, you could lose your right to drive.
“They answered all my collect calls from jail and went above and beyond what I expected.”
“I was finally treated fairly by the DMV because I had a competent and prepared attorney.”
“For those in need – give them a call”
“I’m really pleased with the outcome, especially the recent DMV decision.”
“She treated me like I was the most important call of the day. She listened carefully and respectfully.”
“She is great! I could have not picked a better attorney office to serve.”
When you are arrested for DUI, the arresting officer will confiscate your driver’s license and give you a “notice of suspension” that will serve as a temporary license. California law requires you to choose between a breath or blood test if lawfully arrested.
If you failed to complete or declined/refused a breath test or blood test, the DMV will begin suspension proceedings starting on the 31st day after your arrest.
You must contact the DMV within 10 days of your arrest in order to challenge the suspension of your driver’s license, or it will be suspended regardless of the outcome of your case.
We handle making these arrangements for our clients.
The DMV hearing and your criminal case are two entirely separate parts to your DUI charges. Even if you are not found guilty of DUI, you could still lose your license depending upon how the DMV hearing goes.
Your Orange County lawyer will be able to represent your interests in your DMV hearing to help ensure that you have the best chance at keeping your driving privileges.
If keeping your license is important to you, you should speak immediately with an experienced Orange County DUI lawyer to discuss your options and to learn how your right to drive can be protected.